HHSS students named District Debate Champions, team earns top marks at Moody tournament

DSC_5956 IMG_1365

The Harlingen High School South speech, drama, and debate teams had an outstanding performance at the Cross-Examination Debate District Meet and the Texas Forensics Association (TFA) Moody High School Tournament.

At the district meet, bringing the title of District Champions in first place were Chris Esparza and Sarah Cano. In second place was the team of June Martinez and Ramiro Valdez. With their placement, the teams will advance to the UIL State meet held during spring break at the University of Texas at Austin.

Through their participation at the UIL Academic State Meet, students will also qualify for the Texas Interscholastic League Foundation Scholarships.

Students at the Moody tournament had an equally outstanding performance. Kassie Martinez received fourth in Novice Poetry. Matthew Canon received second in Dramatic Interpretation, fifth in Poetry and Prose, and seventh in Novice Extemporaneous. Sawyer Warrenburg received first place in Humorous Interpretation, second in Prose, and also placed third in Dramatic Interpretation. Mckayla Davis received first in Duet Acting and fourth place in Dramatic Interpretation.

Will Ernest placed first in Duet Acting with partner Mckayla Davis. Rebecca Pockrus placed first in Duo Interpretation, second in Duet Acting, third in Poetry and in Humorous Interpretation, fourth in Prose, fifth in Dramatic Interpretation. Josh Garcia received second in Novice Prose and seventh in Dramatic Interpretation. Jeremy Marquez also placed second in Poetry and in Humorous Interpretation, and fourth in Duo Interpretation.

Chris Ezparza also placed first in Duo Interpretation, second in Original Oratory, and seventh in Humorous Interpretation and in Domestic Extemporaneous. Lesly Garcia also received first place in Prose, second in Duet Acting, fourth in Duo Interpretation, and fifth in Original Oratory. Sarah Cano received second in domestic Extemporaneous and third place in Prose. Jann Soto received first in Congressional Debate, first in Public Forum Debate, first in Foreign Extemporaneous, and first in Original Oratory.

Collin Flemmons placed first in Public Forum Debate, fifth in Congressional Debate and in Foreign Extemporaneous, and eighth in Original Oratory. Jonathan Rozeff placed third in Novice Extemporaneous. Jesse Salazar received eighth in Foreign Extemporaneous. Adam Pena placed seventh in Foreign Extemporaneous and was a quarter-finalist in Lincoln Douglas Debate. Abby De Leon received second in Lincoln Douglas Debate and fifth in Domestic Extemporaneous.

The team currently has a total of 27 state qualifications for the TFA State Tournament. Hosted in Houston, students will compete from March 5 to March 9.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *