Teachers of the Year, elementary campuses recognized for excellence

The Board of Trustees recognized the 11 campuses named “Distinguished Schools” by Texas Education Agency and met with Team One members during Tuesday night’s regular meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Trustees also recognized the 2010-2011 Teachers of the Year, Dr. Lisa Irby and Sonya Brandenburg, during the meeting.

The elementary school that received recognition for consistently demonstrating strong academic performance over the past three years are:

  • Austin
  • Bonham
  • Bowie
  • Dishman
  • Jefferson
  • Lamar
  • Long
  • Stuart Place
  • Travis
  • Treasure Hills
  • Zavala
TEA awards schools the title of Distinguished if their student populations are 40 percent or more low income.Distinguished Performance Schools have achieved a minimum of a Recognized status for the two previous years, and Distinguished Progress Schools have increased their status from either Academically Unacceptable or Acceptable two years ago, to Recognized or Exemplary last year and Exemplary this year.

“The success at these campuses is an example of how in this district, we don’t make excuses,” Superintendent Dr. Steve Flores said. “These skills of obtained excellence and sustained it, demonstrating how great things are happening at HCISD.”

The following staff members received certificates for participating in the district’s Team One, an initiative by Dr. Flores to increase professional and leadership development across the district.

  • Ginger Armstrong – Means Elementary
  • Miriam Guerra – Dishman Elementary
  • Laura Cecilio – Memorial Middle School
  • Dr. Lisa Irby – Bowie Elementary
  • Kristi David – Rodriguez Elementary
  • Imelda Munivez – Harlingen High School
  • Magda Gonzalez – Long Elementary
  • Dr. Cindy Sadler – Staff Development

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *