HHS and HHSS Speech, Drama, and Debate teams take top spots at Carroll Tournament

HHS SpeechSouthSDD_Carroll

This past weekend the Harlingen High School and Harlingen High School South Speech, Drama and Debate teams traveled to Corpus Christi to compete in a Texas Forensics Association qualifier competition at Mary Carroll High School. HHS and HHSS brought back 3rd and 1st place sweepstakes respectively with many team members reaching the semi-final and final rounds of competition in their particular events.

Please see full results listed below.

Lincoln Douglas Debate:
3rd place Irene Tyler

Humorous interpretation:
1st place James Montelongo
2nd place Savannah Smith
3rd place James Gracia
4th place Matthew Canon
6th place Nathaniel Carney

Dramatic interpretation:
1st place Valarie Luevanos
2nd place Emily Ornelas
3rd place James Gracia
4th place Matthew canon
8th place Angela Gonzalez

Senior Prose:
1st place Matthew Canon
4th place Enrique Cantu

Novice Prose:
1st place Savannah Smith
3rd place Julia Bender
6th place Christian Ingram

Senior Poetry:
3rd place Angela Gonzalez

Novice Poetry:
1st place John Duncan
2nd place Savannah Smith
3rd place Christian Ingram
4th place Julia Bender
5th place Isaiah Arellano
6th place Isaiah Foster

Duo interpretation:
2nd James Montelongo and Isaiah Foster
3rd place Matthew Canon and James Gracia
5th place John Duncan and Enrique Cantu
6th place Angela Gonzalez and Savannah Smith

Duet interpretation:
1st place Matthew Canon and John Duncan
2nd place Enrique Cantu and James Gracia
5th place Emily Ornelas and Tristen Rosales
7th place Valarie Luevanos and Julia Bender

Original Oratory:
2nd place Brandon Salas
3rd place Kassy Gonzalez
4th place Matthew Canon
5th place Abby De Leon
7th place Josh Delgado
8th place Lizzy Everrett

Foreign Extemp:
2nd place Grant Burbach

Domestic Extemp:
1st place Amethyst Marroquin
2nd place Abby DeLeon
4th place Lizzy Everrett
7th place Chris Smith

Novice Extemp:
2nd place Jorge Vargas
4th place Ty Kuykendall
6th place Cameron Palomo

Super Congress:
2nd place Grant Burbach
4th Amethyst Marroquin
9th place Chris Smith
15th Juan Alvarez

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *