HCISD honors Teachers of the Year



Not pictured: Diana Hill and Rosemary Rudd

Each year, campuses at the Harlingen Consolidated Independent School District honor educators by selecting their Teacher of the Year.

These teachers represent educators that continually go above and beyond for their students and work towards creating a high quality educational environment.


These teachers are:

  1. HHS
Diana Hill
  1. HHS-South
Roxanna Moore
  1.  ECHS
Joseph Rigdon
  1.  Keys Academy
Margaret Patterson
  1.  Coakley Middle School
Michael Travis
  1.  Gutierrez Middle School
Denise Molina
  1.  Memorial Middle School
Randal Allgood
  1.  Vela Middle School
Patricia Cazares
  1.  Vernon Middle School
Keith DiSantis
  1.  Secondary Alt Center
Lawrence Atteberry
  1.  Austin Elementary
Kathy Eunice
  1.  Bonham Elementary
Bethany Prechel
  1.  Bowie Elementary
Bertha Hinojosa
  1.  Crockett Elementary
Camille C. Cavazos
  1.  Dishman Elementary
Maria D. Munoz
  1.  Houston Elementary
Roxanna Shimotsu
  1.  Jefferson Elementary
Jennifer Nimerick Silva
  1.  Lamar Elementary
Bennie Newby
  1.  Lee  Means Elementary
Rita Crenshaw
  1.  Long Elementary
Lisa Marie Bazan
  1.  Milam Elementary
Nancy Lara
  1.  Rodriguez Elementary
Edith Trevino
  1.  Stuart Place Elementary
Rosemary Rudd
  1.  Travis Elementary
David Garza
  1.  Treasure Hills Elementary
Roberta Galindo
  1.  Wilson Elementary
Rene C. Ramirez
  1.  Zavala Elementary
Sandra Villareal


After their selection, they were submitted to the district’s central office to be reviewed for HCISD’s prestigious secondary and elementary Teacher of the Year award.

For the 2012 – 2013 school year, Sam Houston Elementary Teacher Roxanna Shimotsu and Vernon Middle School Head Band Director Keith Di Santis were awarded the title for the elementary and secondary campuses, respectively.

With their title, they will also be the district’s two selections for the Region One Teacher of the Year competition, which will be held this summer in Edinburg.

One thought on “HCISD honors Teachers of the Year

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *