Board of Trustees honor top RGVLS winners


Future Farmers of America students were recognized by the Board of Trustees for showcasing their talents and rounding up awards at the 2018 Rio Grande Valley Livestock Show. Participants from across the Valley were judged in their respective categories and divisions.

The top winners were recognized at the April regular board meeting. FFA students earning the highest possible livestock show distinctions are as follows:

Photography (Only 1st place make the auction for this division.)
Megan Adair – 1st place Plants/Flora (Made auction)

Breeding Lambs
Kylie Mitchell – Reserve Breed Champion

Breeding Hogs
Landry Perkins – 1st place
Madison Callier – 1st; Reserve Breed Champion

Breeding Heifers
Leslie Martinez – 1st place

Breeding Bulls
Landry Perkins – 1st place; Reserve breed champion (open show)

Jr. Breeding Rabbit Division
Kane Jacobs 1st place

Market Rabbit Division Good House Keeping
Harlingen FFA 1st place: Nicholas Bauer, Abigail Mendoza, Carolina Munoz, Levi Newell, Jasmine Rivera, and J’Den Gonzalez

Jr. Breeding Cattle Division
Victoria Trevino

Jr. Breeding Gilt Division
Trevor Gilbert

Market Swine Division
Mia Molano 1st place; Breed Champion
Cara Cash 1st place
Trent Gilbert 1st place
Cameron Eriksmoen 1st place

Market Swine Showmanship
Edward Guerrero – Senior Grand Champion

Public Speaking Contest
Cara Cash – Senior Grand Champion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *