HCISD Board of Trustees named Board of the Year state finalist

The Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees was selected as an Honor School Board, one of the five finalists for the state’s Board of the Year Award, the Texas Association of School Administrators announced Wednesday, July 31, 2019.

Earlier this month, the Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees was selected as the regional Board of the Year. The regional award recognizes 13 school boards across Texas for their dedication to the students they serve. The board then moved on to the next round in the process and was selected as one of the five finalists in the state, which also includes Frenship ISD, Pasadena ISD, Rockwall ISD and Tyler ISD.

“It is truly an honor to have been selected as an honor board,” said current HCISD Board of Trustees President Dr. Nolan Perez. “Our progress and recognition is a result of our collaborative support for our students. I want to congratulate my fellow board members, and we are appreciative of Dr. Art Cavazos for nominating us for this prestigious award.”

A committee comprised of Texas school superintendents chaired by Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Superintendent Robin Ryan selected the five honor boards.

The committee selects the boards based on a set of judging criteria, including support for educational performance, commitment to a code of ethics, placement of the welfare of children served by the school system above personal or political motives, public relations efforts including community awareness, and support for educational improvement projects and school transformation initiatives.

“I am super proud of the Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees for being recognized for their work toward providing our students with world-class resources,” said Dr. Art Cavazos. “This is such a tremendous honor, and I want to congratulate and thank the board for their continued commitment to our students and school district.”

The 2018-19 Harlingen CISD Board of Trustees were board President Greg Powers, Vice-President Dr. Nolan Perez, Secretary Eladio Jaimez, as well as members Gerry Fleuriet, Dr. Bobby Muniz, Javier De Leon, and Dr. Belinda Reininger. All of the aforementioned trustees serve on the current board and will now move onto the next level in the recognition process.

The Texas Association of School Administrators along with the Texas Association of School Boards will then announce the state’s Outstanding School Board of the Year at the associations’ convention in September. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *