Harlingen South sweeps the competition at UIL District Academic Meet


The Harlingen High School South UIL team brought home the 32-6A UIL Academic District Championship last weekend after competing at San Benito High School. The team won with over 500 points – a new record for South. With 32 students qualifying, they move on to the next round of competition, the UIL Academic Regional Meet on April 22-23 at the University of Texas at San Antonio.

Winning points for South include the following:

Calculator : Ryan Mowers – 1st  and 2nd place team

Current Issues : Miguel Dominguez – 4th     Justin Serna – 3rd Jaime Ramirez – 1st and they also took 1st place team

Computer Applications : Miguel Dominguez – 4th   Brenden Martinez – 3rd

Computer Science : Brenden Martinez – 4th     Amanda Alvarez – 2nd and they took 2nd place team

Editorial Writing : Jacob Fraga – 6th     Ashley Pannell – 3rd

Headline Writing : Jacob Fraga – 6th

Informative Speaking : Abby De Leon – 5th   Matthew Canon – 3rd Chris Smith – 2nd

Lincoln Douglas Debate : Abby De Leon – 3rd Miriam Perez – 2nd Lizzy Everett – 1st

Literary Criticism : Ashley Esquivel – 6th     Micaela Keyes – 5th and they won 2nd place team

Mathematics : Michael Cantu – 5th   Carlos Torres   3rd     Ryan Mowers 1st    and they won 1st place team

Number Sense : Carlos Torres – 5th   Chen Yen-Ting   2nd   Ryan Mowers 1st  and they won 1st place team

Persuasive Speaking : John Duncan- 6th   Lizzie Everett – 3rd Miriam Perez – 1st

Poetry Interpretation : Sawyer Warrenburg – 3rd   Savannah Smith – 2nd Jessica Durant – 1st

Prose Interpretation : John Duncan – 4th James Gracia – 3rd   Matthew Canon – 1st

Ready Writing : McKayla Davis – 5th     Erika Hernandez – 1st

Science : Chen Yen-Ting 5th     Ryan Mowers 1st place as well as 1st place in Chemistry and Physics and they won 1st place team

Social Studies : Miguel Dominguez 3rd   Jaime Ramirez 2nd   Justin Serna 1st and they also took 1st place team

Spelling and Vocabulary : Karla Khine 5th place and they also took 2nd place team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *