Scholars stand out during regular board meeting

The Department for Advanced Academic Services presented the 2011 high school scholars from Harlingen High School and Harlingen High School South during Tuesday’s regular meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Students earned academic awards based on grade point average, advanced placement test and/or standardized testing results.

“It is always an honor and a privilege to recognize publicly our outstanding scholars,” Board President Gerry Fleuriet said. “HCISD takes great pride in the achievements of all our students. These exceptional accomplishments from these students are particularly special.”

The board and community in attendance recognized the following students:

2011 National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists
An academic competition for recognition and scholarships entered by taking the PSAT/NMSQT in October, 2010.

Kevin Pallapati, Ethan L. Perez and Natalie Wood from HHSS
National Hispanic Recognition Program
Recognizes approximately 2% from a pool of 196,000 academically outstanding students of Hispanic origin. This recognition is based on a combination of PSAT/NMSQT score and GPA.
Jacob Lozano, Ethan Perez, Adriana Torres and Natalie Wood from HHSS
Nancy Kuri, Michael Lorenzo-Luaces and Gabriela Esmeralda Vasquez from HHS
National Achievement Scholarship Program
An academic competition established in 1964 to provide recognition for outstanding Black American high school students. Each year, approximately 3,100 outstanding such students are brought to the attention of about 1,500 four-year colleges and universities in the United States.
Christian T. Young and Jessica L. Young from HHSS
Gabriela Esmeralda Vasquez from HHS
AP Scholar Award
Awarded to students earning a score of three or higher on at least three AP exams
Kaitlin M. Berry, Maia A. Castillo, Taylor Danielle Cavazos, Kim A. Cruz, Ulysses Fernandez, Marissa B. Galvan, Courtney A. Krupula, Kevin J. Pallapati, Adriana Torres, Sarah E. Villarreal and Jessica L. Young from HHSS
Bailey Baker, Nicolas E. Chacon, Blade O. Roybal, and Hunter Stanteen from HHS
AP Scholars with Honor
Awarded to students earning a score of three or higher on four or more AP exams
Ethan Perez and Natalie Wood, HHSS
AP Scholars with Distinction
Awarded to students earning a scores of three or higher on five ore more exams.
Jared L. Cavazos and Justin L. Cavazos from HHSS
University of Texas 2011 Distinguished Lecture Series Essay Contest
These students were recognized for their participation in this year’s contest. The topic was “How would you design your senior year to make it more useful and relevant in preparing for higher education or the job market?”
Gabriela Esmeralda Vasquez, HHS, won First Place and a $250 prize
Daniel Galvan, HHS, won Third Place and a $150 prize
Elora Ballejos, Jennifer Flores, Holly V. Louise Roybal and Hubbard Uhlhorn of HHS were Finalists, winning $100 awards
Bianaca Quintanilla, HHSS, was a Finalist, winning a $100 award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *