Governor Abbott Appoints Three To Texas Woman’s University Board Of Regents

AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott today appointed John V. “Vic” Lattimore, Jr. of Plano, Dr. Nolan Perez of Harlingen and re-appointed Dr. Ann McGinity of Pearland to the Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents for terms to expire on February 1, 2021.

John V. “Vic” Lattimore, Jr. is the President and Chairman of the Board of Lattimore Properties, Inc. For 23 years, he served as president of Lattimore Materials Company. He is the past chairman of the Board of Texas Aggregate and Concrete Association and Collin County Regional Strategic Planning Board. He was honored with the Bob Beard Good Neighbor Award from the Texas Aggregate and Concrete Association, the Business of the Year Award for Collin County and Business of the Year Award for the City of McKinney. Currently, Lattimore serves on the board of trustees of the Lattimore Foundation. He is a lifetime member of the Safari Club International, Dallas Safari Club and serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors for U.S. Rare Earths Company. Lattimore served as a former member of the Board of Trustees of Austin College, Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation, National Center for Policy Analysis, the Governor’s Advisory Committee of Rock Crushers and Quarries and the Vestry of St. Peters Episcopal Church. He is also the past president of Holy Family School. Lattimore is very active with the Navy Wounded Warrior Foundation, Sons of the Flag Burn Foundation, and the Mike E. Thornton Foundation. He has served from 2007 – 2014 as one of the Honorary Chairs of the Congressional Medal Society Foundation “Patriot Award” Gala. He was honored by the U.S. Navy SEAL teams with the Navy SEAL Trident, making him an honorary SEAL and received the Excalibur Award and Top Gun Award from the American Cancer Society.

Dr. Nolan Perezis the CEO of Gastroenterology Consultants of South Texas, PA in Harlingen. He is board certified in Gastroenterology, and is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians and Fellow of the American College of Gastroenterology. He is a Clinical Assistant Professor and Education Coordinator for Gastroenterology at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Regional Academic Health Center. Dr. Perez is a Trustee for the Harlingen Consolidated Independent School District since 2010, and is currently the Board President. He is the Founder of RGV Mentors, a mentorship initiative for high school students. He also serves on other boards including: The Texas Lyceum, Lone Star National Bank Board of Directors, UT System Chancellor’s Council Executive Committee, The University of Texas at Austin Development Board, Hooked for Life- Kids Gone Fish’n, RGV LEAD, Advocacy Alliance Center of Texas, Valley Baptist Medical Center Physician Leadership Council, Medical Director for Platinum Surgery Center, and Expert Panelist for the Texas Medical Board. He earned a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Texas at Austin and a Medical Doctorate from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He completed residency training in Internal Medicine at the Regional Academic Health Center in Harlingen, and fellowship training in Gastroenterology at Wayne State University/Detroit Medical Center. After medical school he served in the US Navy as a Medical Corps Officer and received the Navy Commendation and Navy Achievement Medals.

Dr. Ann S. McGinity is the Chief Operating Officer for Global Services at Houston Methodist Hospital in Houston. Prior to that she served for 10 years as the Chief Nurse Executive and Senior Vice President of Operations and oversaw their successful three time designation as a Magnet Hospital. McGinity is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, Professor of Allied Health Services at the Houston Methodist Institute for Academic Medicine, Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry with the Menninger Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Baylor College of Medicine, Adjunct Professor at The University of Texas School of Nursing and Clinical Professor at The University of Texas Medical Branch, School of Nursing, Galveston, Texas. McGinity has served in administrative and nurse leadership roles at the Laurel Regional Hospital in Maryland, the University of Maryland Medical System and The Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, Maryland. She is a member of Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society and Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing. In 2005, the Houston Texas Nursing Association named Dr. McGinity as one of ten outstanding nurse leaders. McGinity is a member of numerous professional and community organizations.  Currently, she is a member of both the Board of Directors of the Good Samaritan Foundation and Denver Harbor Clinic and represents Houston Methodist Hospital in national and international nursing forums. McGinity holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing from Seton Hall University, a Masters in Science in Child Psychiatric Nursing from the University of Maryland, and a PhD, also from the University of Maryland.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *